Life changes suddenly when the sounds of smashing glass and an automobile crashing upend your day. Becoming the victim of a car wreck is something few people can prepare for because, frankly, no one expects it to happen to them. Fortunately, the attorneys at the White Mountain Injury Law firm have the knowledge and experience to get you through what comes next.
What are the Critical Steps After a Car Accident?
We advise our valued community members to focus on their health and safety first. It’s essential to remain seated in the vehicle, as long as it is not smoking or unsafe in any fashion. Take a moment to check yourself for cuts, pain, or any trauma.
Use your cell phone to call 911 and alert law enforcement about the crash and the possibility you or someone else has been injured. If you believe you struck your head during the collision, absolutely remain in a fixed position until EMTs arrive. Insist on being taken to an emergency room or healthcare facility for a comprehensive examination.
In the event you feel well enough to move about, consider gathering information by taking the following measures.
- Take cell phone pics from multiple angles of the scene.
- Exchange insurance information with the at-fault motorist.
- Exchange contact information with the other driver.
- Gather the names and contact information of any eye-witnesses.
- Note any weather conditions that played a factor in the car accident.
Once you have completed your fact-gathering tasks, contact a personal injury lawyer. You have essentially done your part to build a cache of information that can be used to support an out-of-court settlement or file a civil lawsuit to recover losses.
How Does Arizona Car Accident Law Work?
The state of Arizona requires all motorists to carry at least minimum liability insurance. Your attorney can work out a settlement directly with the insurance company, if they act reasonably. The minimum insurance thresholds drivers use generally include the following.
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death to an individual caused by the insured driver.
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death to two or more people due to the insured driver’s negligence.
- $15,000 in property damages per accident caused by the negligent driver.
If the at-fault driver failed to maintain liability coverage, your policy may include $25,000 to $50,000 in uninsured motorist benefits. It’s also important to understand that Arizona is known as a “fault” state, meaning both parties are considered negligent to some extent. The challenge will be to persuade an insurance claim professional that you are only minimally responsible and entitled to compensation.
Should You File A Car Accident Lawsuit?
Multiple factors must be considered when deciding to file a civil lawsuit in Arizona. Your case will typically be based on the facts and information you gathered, demonstrating the other party was primarily at fault. Another crucial element is whether the maximum payout from an insurance company covers your upfront and future losses.
Arizona law allows car accident victims up to two years to file a lawsuit. If you were in a car wreck, and sustained injuries,, contact White Mountain Injury Law and schedule a free consultation. Our determined legal team will get you the full, fair compensation you deserve.